Technology & Media

February 4, 2009 at 9:14 pm (Media Literacy) (, , )

First of all, I know I am not an expert in American politics, but I know enough about the world around me to have a perspective on the subject. I found chapter 6 to be extremely interesting and insightful. It is a really interesting reflection on the media’s role in the United States and how greatly the media affects all of us.

The most interesting part of the chapter was the first paragraph of page 82. This paragraph the media’s role in the lack of public debate about the strike on Iraq in 2003. I know I’m not American, but as a Canadian whatever the USA decides to do, well it impacts my life a lot. When the United States decided to invade Iraq, based on “bogus claims made about Iraq’s connection to al-Qaida” it affected me greatly. The media played such a crucial role. The war in Afghanistan and Iraq were depicted as “an Arnold Schwarzenegger action film”. The US soldiers were seen as kind and giving while the Muslims were just some crazed terrorists. It is an interesting take on examining the war in Iraq, and (at least in my opinion) America’s ultimate failure.

I found the 7th chapter to be slightly confusing, as I didn’t realize until about half way through that Noam Chomsky was talking about George Bush Sr. and not George Bush Jr. I then had to go back to beginning and read it again. I mean, I was a little confused throughout the beginning of it, and the change of person clarified it. Basically this chapter demonstrates how screwed up the world we live in is, and how America plays such a huge role.

Saddam Hussein was portrayed by the media, the intellectual community, and generally the whole of America as “a new Hitler poised to take over the world”. He was the enemy and the USA (Bush Sr.) was the hero, there to save the world, and more specifically, American citizens.

I find it interesting that although I was not old enough to be aware of the President Bush Sr’s actions, I have lived and been able to see first hand Bush Jr’s decisions and their effects. I was also able to learn about and Saddam Hussein and all of his terrible acts, as well as his execution.

Sometimes I forget that there is a war going on, that men and women are dying. That soldiers and citizens alike are being killed because of guns, bombs, tanks, cars, weapons in general. It is easy to disassociate myself with the war because it is happening so many thousands of miles away. I know that I am not an expert on politics or warfare, but I believe that war is wrong. I really don’t think that war has ever solved anything. While usually a “solution” is found by the end, what does it really solve? Does it ever fix the animosity between groups of people. Does it give those who have killed, and the family and friends of those who died a sort of peace and understanding? I couldn’t imagine how it ever could. I have never been affected by the war first hand, I had family members killed in WWI and WWII, but they were people I never knew. I will never condone war, nor will I truly ever understand it. However, I will never judge those who decide to fight for their country, I will accept it, but definitely never understand it.

Leave a Reply

